mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week #13 – FOOD Drive!

Leave a comment

March 23, 2014

 

Ever have those mornings when you just can’t get yourself going and you hit snooze like 18 times. That’s how I feel about my blog this week. It’s not that I’m losing interest, and I still have lots of ideas, but I just couldn’t seem to get the ambition to actually sit down and start typing. Ok, so it’s not really ambition-related and more a function of having free time and lack of distractions to get into the right head-space to write. (I can’t imagine what I could possibly be distracted by. It couldn’t possibly be that my daughter won’t go to bed or that Friday at the grocery store she managed to lose her favourite little bunny, and then  fell up the stairs on the way in the house almost splitting her eye open).

Blog.com also seemed to be having some difficulties this weekend. But here I am.

This winter isn’t helping. I don’t know about you, but I know I’ve had enough of this winter weather! I know I’ve ranted on and on about the weather –we’re all feeling it.

Although this Thursday marked the first “official” day of spring, we’re likely in for some cold temperatures for a few more weeks.

For those who don’t have shelter or don’t have adequate heat in their homes for whatever reason, this winter has been especially challenging.

So this week’s challenge – start a collection of yoghurt containers at work for FOOD.

Feeding Others of Dartmouth (FOOD) (also known as Margaret’s House) offers shelter and hot meals to adults in need.

They have an ongoing need for donations of plastic food containers to store and serve leftovers for clients.

Yoghurt, ice cream and margarine containers work best, but they can also use take-out containers or Tupperware that you’re looking to get rid of. They must be clean and must have lids.

Yesterday morning I dropped of two bags to them. They always open the door with a smile, and are always so appreciative. :-)

And how exactly does this help the environment? Although most of these types of containers are recyclable in HRM, remember the three Rs – reuse comes before recycle, and using these containers again for leftovers extends their useful life before heading for the blue bag.

HRM has only been recycling all plastics for about two years, after a report recommending that plastic types other than 1, 2 and 4 be included. Before this time, we had to sort our plastics, checking the bottoms for the little number in the triangle. The argument was that to recycle the plastics, they would have to be shipped overseas, cancelling out any benefit achieved by recycling by the carbon emissions produced.

If I understand correctly, the city has decided that the money that could be gained by exporting the plastics, and the impact of diverting the waste out of the landfills, was worth the CO2 impact. Hopefully some of the money recouped is being used to plant additional trees to offset the emissions. In fact, HRM has been working on an Urban Forest Mater Plan, including planting additional trees.

So is recycling really benefiting the environment here? Or is it like buying recycled carpet from California? I haven’t done the calculations, and until then, I will continue to eat my organic yoghurt and reuse the containers, and top it off by carrying a reusable shopping bag in my purse, and let the eternal optimist in me hope for the best :-)

Leave a Reply

