mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week # 7 – Green Love

Leave a comment

February 22, 2014

I took a little hiatus from blogging last week – it was a busy week in our household! My little girl turned three, and it was Valentine’s Day. But I didn’t skip-out on my resolution!

Babysitters being as scarce as they are, we decided to treat ourselves to take-out and red wine. My husband is fussy about his wine, while I’ll drink anything ;-) He prefers South America, but I knew I would feel like a hypocrite if I bought wine from so far away when we have so many excellent choices from right here in Nova Scotia. An Ecology Action Goods Miles brochure I found while cleaning out our filing cabinet a few weeks ago states that wine from California and Australia have 60 times and 210 times, respectively, the green house gas emissions compared with buying local, not to mention the economic and social impacts.

One trip to the NSLC, and much discussion with the salesperson later, I finally settled on a local variety from Grand Pre wineries – NS Red. And it was lovely, even impressing my husbands sensitive tastes :-)

We then proceeded to dig in to our deliciously spicey take out Thai food, in its Styrofoam containers. What was that I was saying about being a hypocrite? So along with only buying local wine, I am also going to strive to no longer get take out (or at least, not take out in non-recyclable or non-biodegradable packaging). Many local restaurants use foil dishes with cardboard lids, while others use reusable and recyclable plastic containers, or packaging that resembles the traditional square Styrofoam container but is made of biodegradable materials. As with any environmental claim there is always controversy, and these products are no exception. The biodegradable containers are usually made from corn and sugarcane byproducts. While it addresses the third “r” of reduce, reuse, recycle (or compost), we should really strive to reduce waste first. Also, using corn for packaging uses up valuable farmland that could be devoted to actual food. But it is nice to see that at least one company distributing these products, BSI, is based in Canada.

Avoiding take-out will not only help the planet, but also my waistline – which seems to be increasing with each snowstorm this winter. I can’t wait for spring – the chirping birds, the warm sunshine, the after dinner walks, the smell freshly push-mower mowed grass.  . . . where is that groundhog?!

Leave a Reply

