mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week # 25 – Plants and Seeds and Things that Grow

Leave a comment

July 5th 2014

It’s wedding season! Last weekend I attended a wedding for a good friend from high school. Her wedding theme was “Nova Scotia” and it was beautiful! The ceremony took place near a beach with a lighthouse, all of the food served at the dinner was local, and as favours everyone was given a jar of Cranberry Kitchen sauce or salsa from Terra Beata farms in Lunenburg NS.

My daughter, who is growing like the Japanese Knotweed still in our backyard, needed a new dress that fit properly to wear to this wedding. In the past I may have gone to the mall to find something on the sale rack (I’m not much of a shopper and won’t spend a lot of money on clothes). I committed that this time I would get a thrift store dress. So off I went to Value Village, and after just half an hour – success! I found a beautiful pink and white dress, a size larger so she’ll be able to wear it for another year at least. And it’s machine washable – very important for toddlers!

I also looked for something for myself, without much luck. I have one dress that is appropriate for a wedding, but I’d need to lose about 10 pounds to fit into it. Another dress I’m just bored of, so on to dress number three – a little black number that suited the event just fine. And I looked pretty good it in if I do say so myself. I’ll probably be back to the thrift store in a week or two to look again. We have another wedding at the end of the month, and somehow I think the weight is not going to come off. I’ve worn the black and print dresses to other weddings with the same family members so I don’t want to wear them again. Maybe that’s just silly.

It’s hard to get out for a run when I’ve been busy in the garden. The turnip I planted are doing great, but not so much the peppers. We’ve also been doing some spring cleaning and rearranging things around the house. A couple of weekends ago we participated in our neighbourhood’s annual yard sale. Any items that weren’t sold we donated to charity. A few times a year we will go through our closets and donate items, so I don’t really consider this a “new” green challenge. But, with all the rearranging we’ve stumbled upon a need for a proper nightstand in the guest room. After my experience earlier in the month with the chair, I’ve committed to only procuring hand-made, hand-me-down or thrift/re-claimed furniture. So off to the thrift store I went again, but no luck yet.

Speaking of clothes, though we go through our own closets, I’m still hesitant to give away the baby things, in hopes we might still have another child. And while I’m trying to lose weight to fit into that other dress for the next wedding later this month, I’m secretly hoping that it won’t fit – but for all the right reasons.

 

~My daughter’s favourite book – Richard Scarry’s Cars and Trucks and Things that Go!~

Leave a Reply

