mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week # 28-30 – The Last Straw

Leave a comment

August 4, 2014

Waiting, waiting, waiting. That’s what I’ve been doing for the last two months. I thought I had a new job lined up, but nothing on paper yet. They keep saying they’re going to get it to me next week. It’s been “next week” for three weeks and still no letter! I’ve about given up.

And it’s making me and everyone around me cranky. This evening my husband and I got into a huge fight. I’d felt it coming on for a couple of days, but I can’t remember exactly what set it off. We have little spats all the time, usually hunger-induced (those Snickers commercials aren’t too far off), but nothing like this. Doors slammed and tears were shed. I grabbed my keys and our daughter and went for a walk while he hid in the “man cave”. This was by far our worst fight in a long time, and to be honest I can’t even remember what it was about. After a couple of hours apart to simmer down, we talked it through and made up.

The thing is, it probably wouldn’t have gotten to that point if he could have just told me what he was thinking. From his perspective, I was antagonizing him, while I thought we were just having a conversation.

He says men are taught from an early age to walk away from conflict. What conflict!? To me, and I suspect many other women, walking away from a conversation is the worst thing you can do. It implies that what we are saying isn’t important, and leaves things unresolved.

I can’t understand why men aren’t just taught to use their words to articulate their emotions, rather than being taught to simply walk away. Are men really prone to more aggression that walking away is necessary to prevent a worse outcome?

I’ll leave that to the psychologists. In the meantime, this week’s challenge – stop using straws.

IMG_1841

These are some reusable (washable) plastic straws that I purchased for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

