mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week # 33 – Salad Days, Hopeful Dreams

Leave a comment

Thirty-four years ago, a young man started the Marathon of Hope. Unfortunately he wasn’t able to finish his dream himself, but others have taken his place. While he was fighting the fight of his life, a mom-to-be was watching the Marathon of Hope telethon on TV.

That mom was my mom, and the baby in her belly was me. She’s told me that story since I as long as I can remember. And that connection to Terry Fox, however remote, has inspired me to do the Terry Fox Run every year.

Today was my 24th Terry Fox Run. I am very thankful that my family and I were healthy enough to participate. I haven’t worked out like that in over a month, and it felt great to be active again! It’s like once you get used to a certain activity level your body craves it or something. I also started back to yoga this week, and I’ve been trying to eat really healthy, purging all of the junk food out of the house.

This time of year, when local produce is plentiful, I eat a lot of salads. Caesar, Greek, you name it. Lately these salads have also included tomatoes from our garden. I was thinking one way to reduce waste, my carbon footprint, and eat healthier, would be to make my own salad dressings.

I used to order this awesome salad dressing spice mix from Epicure. But with the summer we had, I haven’t gotten around to ordering any yet.

A few weeks ago at the Farmer’s Market, a young man approached me selling salad dressing made by young adults using locally sourced ingredients from their garden. They had several flavours available to try, and I finally settled on the maple balsamic. It’s also yummy on potatoes or as bread dip, and I can’t wait to try it on pasta.

Once I saw the glass bottle I realized that I was familiar with the company – Hope Blooms – they had been on Dragon’s Den (one of the few TV shows my husband and I can watch and enjoy together).

What better way to be earth friendly, support a great cause, and feel like I’m indulging a bit at the same time.

I’ve started buying croutons in bulk to reduce the packaging – I hope to find some locally sourced or make my own in the near future.

I’ve also been researching how to make my own cooking spray instead of buying the aerosol version, which contains potentially toxic propellants and non-recyclable packaging. There are a few recipes online (see links below) involving a mix of distilled water and olive oil – they look kind of time consuming to me. The bottles can also be expensive. Food-grade glass or plastic spray bottles from Epicure and Cucina Moderna are in the $15-$30 range. Tonight I picked up a dropper-style oil & vinegar glass bottle from Superstore for about $5. Not a mister, but we’ll give’er a go and I’ll let you know!

Next week I continue with the cleansing theme – except this time the house!

Links:

Leave a Reply

