mommyonthegreen

Converting back to a green life, one week (and nap time) at a time

Week # 44- Homemade Halloween Part 2

Leave a comment

So there goes my theory of prepackaged treats being safer. A child in Halifax found a pin in a wrapped chocolate bar. Is nothing sacred?

And for anyone (such as my husband) who thought my post was taking all the fun out of the holiday – you’re not alone – check out http://www.scarymommy.com/taking-back-halloween/

At least the homemade kangaroo costume was a success. Last year I purchased a costume from Superstore – my daughter saw a pink bunny suit (not unlike that in A Christmas Story) and it was love at first sight. In fairness she has gotten a lot of use out of it – besides Halloween last year she also wore it for Easter and a Halloween party this year, and it is in regular rotation in the “tickle trunk” in our playroom. While i could have found something similar on Kijiji, I’m always a little wary of bed bugs (and there’s also the gas to pick up used items to consider).

This year I was determined to make something from scratch. Well, almost scratch. And I can’t take all the credit – Pinterest gave me the inspiration. Brown sweatpants and hoodie form Value Village for the body; light brown felt from Michaels for the pouch, tail and ears (the felt was made from recycled plastic too!), and paper towel tubes for the tail. Photos to follow soon , I promise!

What else have I been doing for green challenges:

  • Stopped buying spinach in plastic “clamshell” packaging;
  • Only giving my daughter a bath every other night (sponge bath on “off nights” because really, unless she’s muddy or covered in sunscreen/bug spray from playing outside or decided to put her supper on her head, is she really that dirty that she needs a whole tubful of water? And she seems to like the sponge baths anyway. 🙂 )

Now, on to prepare my next costume, for HAL-CON!!!!!!!!!

Every year around this time I turn back into a nerd. Aw, who am I kidding – I’m a nerd all the time! Photos of that to follow soon too.

Leave a Reply

